I Wish I Didn’t Have To


“I don’t have eyes for the gloom and doomers,” is what Sid Roth said on his show after talking with the prophet Tom Horn. Tom Horn was prophesying about a world revival. That is good news if he is right. But, what is this statement about not having eyes for gloom and doomers? Does Sid Roth realize what he is saying? Let us explore this statement a little.

First of all, I do not doubt that there is going to be a limited revival going on in parts of the world. As long as we are not in the tribulation days of Revelation, revivals are going to occur. And contrary to what a lot of Christians believe, I know that the days of Revelation are not immediately upon us. God has made promises to me about my future that he must fulfill. One of those promises is that I will lead a certain president of a country to Christ after a certain number of years in a ministry God is giving me. I do believe that God will be moving me into this ministry before the end of this year because of a certain prophecy he gave me, but after waiting on this promise for more than 22 years, I will have to wait and see if the door does open this year.

So, what about this statement of Sid Roth concerning not having ears for gloom and doomers. Is this apparent stance by him God’s will? Let us go to the book of Jeremiah and examine this.

Jeremiah was a prophet of the Lord and was the greatest gloom and doomer of all God’s prophets. Was Jeremiah in error for being a gloom and doomer? Was he missing God? Surely not. The Bible simply cannot do without the book of Jeremiah. It was Jeremiah who prophesied how long the Jews would have to wait in Babylon before they would return to the Promised Land. Jeremiah 20: 7-11 says,

“Oh Lord, you have deceived me, and I was deceived: you are stronger than I and have prevailed: I am in derision daily. Everyone mocks me. Ever since I spoke, I cried out, I cried of violence and spoil coming; because the word of the Lord was offensive to others who verbally abused me daily. Then I said, I will not make mention of him (God), nor speak any more in his name. But his word was in my heart as a burning fire shut up in my bones, and I was weary with forbearing, and I could not hold back his words.

“Because, I heard the defaming of many, fear on every side. ‘Report!’ say they, and we will report it. All my acquaintances  watched for me to make a misstep saying, ‘Peradventure he will be enticed, and we shall prevail against him, and we shall take our revenge on him.’ But the Lord is with me as a mighty terrible one: therefore my persecutors shall stumble, and they shall not prevail: they shall be greatly ashamed; for they shall not prosper: their everlasting confusion shall never be forgotten.”

In this passage, Jeremiah was wishing he would not have to prophesy any more bad news to the Jews. He was saying he tried to stop prophesying, but God’s word in his heart was too strong for him, so he had to continue prophesying. There were those, though who did not want to hear such prophecies of doom. They wanted to silence him. This is what I was hearing coming out of Sid Roth’s mouth. I cannot say for sure exactly what he meant, but his words did come out as antagonistic to the Jeremiahs of today of which I am one. He needs to tread very carefully when it comes to downplaying such prophecies, because we know that Jeremiah was a great prophet of God, and he was one of those types of prophets uttering these types of prophecies. Jeremiah was speaking God’s word to the Jews.

God just does not give a prophet like Jeremiah a word of doom without including a word of turning back to him. God always asks for the people of a nation to repent before he judges it. That is the message I have been delivering. I have been saying, “Repent, or this nation will be destroyed!” The message I have been delivering is Biblical. It is fully in the will of God. So, for Sid Roth to say basically that he does not want to hear any more gloom and doom messages, then he needs to wake up to how revivals occur in the first place.

Jeremiah said, “As for me, I have not run away from being a pastor, but have followed you: neither have I desired the dark days ahead that are coming; you know that which came out of my lips was right before you.” (Jeremiah 17: 16)

I wish that the United States did not have to undergo judgment. I take no pleasure  in pronouncing coming judgment just as Jeremiah did not take pleasure in so doing. I wish life in this country could continue without interruption, but that is not the word God has given me: and just like Jeremiah, I have to deliver it. For there to be revival in the world, God has to show the world there are consequences for completely rejecting his word just as the United States has done. Revival comes when people reach an end of themselves and come to realize they need God in their lives. That is the ingredient the people in the United States lack. They have become fat and rich and no longer think they need God in their lives. Contrary to what the Pope says, capitalism is not the problem; man’s heart is the problem. He should be seeking spiritual solutions instead of looking at the physical.

Wake up Sid Roth! If you want to believe in prophecies of a revival, then lead the way in calling the people in this nation to repent. You have a forum to reach a large audience. You could possibly make a difference. But, unfortunately that is something no television minister ever does as far as I have observed. Some interview prophets about bad times coming, some are telling people to prepare for bad days, but these same television ministers never call for the Christians and others in this country to repent and turn back to God. You are in error when you talk about judgment coming and never include the message to repent with that kind of talk. That is why this nation is in the situation it is in today. The Christian leaders in it apparently do not feel there is a need for this nation to repent and turn back to God. That is why we will all face judgment, and these preachers will be swallowed up in God’s wrath in the process. That is Biblical.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

